Juan Epstein

Good morning, good afternoon, good evening, good night and fourth meal. To most of you these words are completely abstract and mean nothing, but to me, they are the opening words to one of my favourite things in the world – the Juan Epstein podcast. It’s the hip-hop equivalent to Doug at the Movies or the Football Ramble and brings me so much joy on a weekly basis, this may have something to do with my love for hip-hop or my love of listening to a great conversation.

Hosted by Hot 97’s dynamic duo Peter Rosenberg and Cipha Sounds, Juan Epstein is an interview style podcast with a famous rapper or a legendary personality stripped down to the bare bones. Despite the celebrity of some of the interviewees, Rosenberg and Cipha always have completely frank and candid conversations with some of the most famous names in hip-hop.

It’s true that I listen to probably around 10 podcasts a week on average, but Juan Ep is by far my favourite and I really recommend subscribing on iTunes if you have even a fleeting interest in rap music. It’s always interesting to me to find out how the likes of Rick Ross, Childish Gambino, Pusha T, Kanye West, DJ Quick and Marley Marl became involved in the rap game being a hip hop nerd and all; but what I like most of all is that it is damn right hilarious.

The hosts are highly respected and influential in the genre in their own right, building Hot 97 to what it is today and being two of the most prominent DJ’s around. I wish I had more people that I could talk to about Billy Junior, Dominican Drew and Ebro et al, so I’m going to need all of you good people to check out the podcast and we can nerd out over Twitter.
Here are the episodes I recommend most, and here is a link to the iTunes subscription.

Leave a Reply

