Summer Mixtape – ‘J’-Side

The summer of 2012 has been a titillating one from start to finish; we had the heroics of Team GB and London 2012, which included me and Ben sitting in the nosebleeds during Dream Team Mk.2’s record breaking tally win against Nigeria, notwithstanding the Nigerian point guard that completely shattered James Harden’s ankles into a million pieces. I finally graduated from University in a blaze of lazy glory, culminating in the cap and gown experience in June. If you haven’t done it yet, I sincerely recommend picking up a cap and gown and going nuts, because you’re worth it.

Our friend the good doctor tied the knot with his, this is a direct quote, ‘’drop dead gorgeous wife,’’ which gave us not only the best stag ever (fuck the Hangover) but also a rustic wedding to remember in Birmingham. Both of these events were dominated by ‘sheik life,’ where it’s safe to say, we lived as lavishly as fucking sheiks for two weeks. Yeah that’s right, we even bought a plate warmer, oh yeah we went there; warm plates are the shit that we do like.

Ben became the next J-Lin while I threw my hat into the ring and grinded out some minimum wage employment at a local supermarket, and ultimately, we neglected the blog that we set out to conquer the world with last summer. So much so, that the domain even expired, and we’ve gone back to our roots with a WordPress page; but not to worry, we still have big plans of being big in Japan, even if it takes longer than the original blueprint suggested.

On the music front, I’ve done a few bits and pieces writing artist biographies for an upcoming festival that The XX are playing, and Ben has become madly obsessed with eight year olds and Annie from Community making trap music. To be really cheesy and cliché, because this was one of the ‘best summers ever,’ me and Ben have decided to make a VY_NLY Summer tape encapsulating what we were bumping this summer.

We hope you enjoy, and hopefully this won’t be the last mix that we put together; the next one may even be downloadable and be chocked full of new music, watch this space.

‘J’ Side:

(1) The Velvet Underground – Pale Blue Eyes

This has gradually become one my favourite song ever, move over Frontin’ by Pharrell.

(2) Frank Ocean – Pink Matter (feat. Andre 3000)

So Channel Orange came out…and so did Frank Ocean, who’d have thunk it? Frankie was referenced way too much this summer, so much so that Frank Ocean became a slang term.

(3)  ACDC – Thunderstruck (Crookers Remix)

I graduated in July, and if there’s one song that epitomises my time at University, it’s definitely this banger.

(4) The Shins – New Slang

The best film I’ve watched in the last month, aside from Disney’s Brave (yeah I said it) was definitely Zach Braff’s Garden State; not only was Natalie Portman in it, but it also reminded me that I used to like The Shins when I was 15.

(5) Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young – Our House

Our house is a very, very fine house, with two cats in the yard, life used to be so hard, now everything is easy, ’cause of you.

(6) Small Black – Despicable Dogs (Washed Out Remix)

I managed to watch and re-watch Project X way too much this summer…

‘’Is this the same party that dick in the sweater vest was telling us about?’’

(7) James Brown – I feel Good

After signing the register and all the ‘you may now kiss the bride’ jazz, the newlyweds danced their down the aisle to this funking classic. Swag.

(8) G.O.O.D Music – Mercy

Swerve.

(9) Beirut – O Leãozinho

To try and wean myself off hip-hop and mariachi bands (blame Breaking Bad Season 2), I started listening to Brazilian singers from the 70’s, as you do. I became a big fan of Caetano Veloso, and when I found out Beirut had covered my favourite track of his, god damn.

(10) Action Bronson – 9-24-11

Action Bronson AKA Bronsonlino, is an Albanian chef that raps and smokes wax all the time. He jumped to the top of my favourite rapper list quicker than Robin Van Persie jumped on a Manchester United contract.

Leave a Reply

