Wu Lyf @ The Union Transfer

Let me just start of by saying, I hate being carded. I really hate being carded. I get that I look like a 14 year old prepubescent Asian boy who wears big framed glasses just like every other Asian hipster kid…but I’m not. I’m 22 and I need my glasses to kind of see the world. Also, just the thought of having a small plastic clear thing in my eye for majority of the day kind of scares me (contacts are made of plastic right?)

Why am I mentioning this? Because I got carded recently at the Wu Lyf gig @ the Union Transfer.

It’s weird that the first act I go to see here in Phili are from Manchester. There was so much hype when I first flew out here from Cardiff…I was coming to the home state of Mac, Wiz, Roth, Mill…and instead, I resort back to the roots of good old fashion skinny jeans and havoc. Standard.

I first heard about these guys after they released their UK student riot inspired visuals for ‘Dirt’, the first single of their album ‘Go Tell The Fire To The Mountain’ in mid-2011 and since then, their mixture of dark pop and heavy industrial sounds have caught the attention of pretty much every music magazine/blogger in the UK. Now admittedly, I’m not the biggest fan, but their gig on the 24th was incredible. With a mosh-pit to their final track ‘We Bros’ and an incredible supporting act in Willis Earl Beal who was armed with a white sheet and wayfarers through his performance (slick), I’d be keen for another showing if they’re ever back in my woods. You should check em out too.

“But Ben, the gig was on the 24th. Why did it take you so long to write this shitty post?”

Well ______, I’ve had finals and have had literally no time to do anything but study, print photographs and ‘eat spinach’. And FM…Shut up. I will tell you a funny story though, I went to this gig with my friend Max, and he got taken in for public intoxication after sitting on the floor for about 20 minutes. Classic Max.

Check out ‘We Bros’ and ‘Dirt’ below.

Leave a Reply

