Josh Osho – Giants (feat. Childish Gambino)

I think it’s gotten to the stage where we can start calling soul singers the next John Legend, his legendary status is ubiquitously established and that’s exactly what I intend on doing in the blog post. His heir apparent this time is a South London crooner who goes by the name of Josh Osho. I’ll be honest, I’ve only just discovered who he is so to quote Murray from Flight of the Conchords, ‘’I don’t know who he is.’’ But what I do know is that he’s brilliant, he won an online talent contest called’ Talent Lives’ apparently, and is signed to Island Records; facts that I don’t know much about. But what I do know is that his debut album L.I.F.E. was produced by the RZA, and he has a track with Ghostface Killah, and if he fucks with the Wu then he’s up there in my book. They say the Osho and the Shaolin could be dangerous…

His latest track, ‘Giants’ sees him teaming up with one of my favourite rappers/actors Donald Glover or Childish Gambino or Troy from Community (my Twitter handle is @childishjambino btw.) Donald Glover famously came up with the name Childish Gambino through using an online Wu-Tang Clan name generator, so another Wu link.

Young Osho is firing on all cylinders with these big American feats, you could even say he’s walking with giants, (sorry). The song is very decent, his bellowing voice is sublime and he hits all of those high notes, I bet he’d make a hell of a gospel singer. Gambino also goes in, and what I especially liked was the kiddies miming his verse in the video which is tight; there’s also a sick Shakespeare line thrown in for good measure. Josh Osho is undoubtedly going to be MASSIVE in the coming months and John Legend should be watching his back; watch this space.

You can download the track here, alongside tracks from 14 other ‘next big things.’

Also, make sure y’all check out the sublime ‘Redemption Days’ featuring Ghostface Killah:

Leave a Reply

