(VY-NLY) Jamie’s Top 10 of 2011

2k11 was a hell of a year for music. I went to 2 of the best festivals that I have ever been to, started VY-NLY, became a hip-hop DJ and stood 3 feet away from James Blake‘s white keyboard; oh and I also saw Wiz Khalifa live and went to Halloween dressed as Justin Bieber.

And let’s let *… brought me here* take an arrow to the knee in 2k12.

My top 10 of 2011:

 

1# James Blake – A Case Of You

 

I’m a fanboy, what can I say?

 

Album – Enough Thunder EP

 

2# Jamie XX & Gil Scott-Heron – NY Is Killing Me/ Jamie XX – Far Nearer

 

Jamie XX did the late great Gil Scott-Heron’s back catalogue a lot of justice, he also cut some huge sounds himself.

 

Album – We’re New Here

 

3# Childish Gambino – That Power

 

I skip the first 3 minutes of this song and listen to the monologue every time, it blows me away.

 

Album – Camp

 

4# Kanye West & Jay-Z – Niggas in Paris

 

Phrases like ‘ball so hard,’ ‘that shit cray’ and ‘going guerrillas’ meant nothing until we started watching the throne.

 

Album – Watch The Throne

 

5# Lykke Li – I Follow Rivers (The Magician Remix)

 

Another Swedish entry, they had a big year didn’t they? Even Zlatan Ibrahimovic penned his autobiography in 2k11. The Magicians remix was better than the original, but the album was genius.

 

Album – Wounded Rhymes

 

6# Metronomy – The Bay

 

Indie, keyboards & big basslines, hand in hand.

 

Album – ‘The English Riviera.’

 

7# Frank Ocean – There Will Be Tears

 

‘’MY GRANDADDY WAS A PLAYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA.’’ The Weeknd could just as easily have made this list, but I went for Frankie instead #GolfWang.

 

Mixtape – Nostalgia/Ultra.

 

8# Kendrick Lamar – Rigamortis

 

‘’Well now we know who killed Tupac.’’

 

Album – Section.80

 

9# SBTRKT – Hold On feat. Sampha

 

The eponymous album from Aaron Jerome was up there with the best of them this year; his beats and Sampha’s voice go together like Frosties and milk.

 

Album – SBTRKT

 

10# Avicii – Levels

 

Undoubtedly the club anthem of the year, just narrowly edging out ‘Hello’ by Martin Solveig; let’s face it; I had to have a Swedish DJ in the mix. It also makes me lose my shit.

Leave a Reply

